Lactose intolerance. *Sigh* This is a condition that my family knows well. In fact, according to the NIH U.S. National Library of Medicine, lactose intolerance is a common plight among adults. Dairy allergies and sensitivities are becoming more prevalent in our society as well. Not to mention the growing evidence linking dairy and acne. I know that when I overindulge in dairy, not only does my stomach hurt, but I don’t like what I see in the mirror! Click here for more on lactose intolerance.
But how can you live in a world without cheese??? Well, I know I can’t. There’s no way I could say goodbye to creamy brie forever. But limiting my dairy intake, while not ideal, is doable. And I know there are plenty of people out there who are limiting or excluding dairy from their diets. So, we can pop Lactaid pills and hope for the best OR we can eat yummy recipes that are dairy-free or that use cheeses with lower amounts of lactose (hard aged cheese have very low amounts of lactose compared to fresh cheeses).
GoDairyFree.org is a great website that explains, shocker, how to go dairy free! One of the common misconceptions about dairy is that it only relates to cow milk products. GoDairyFree.org explains that, in general, all mammal milks (sheep, goat, camel, etc.) and their related products (cheese, sour cream, etc.) are classified as dairy. However, the milks from different mammals have slightly different compositions, which is why some people may be allergic to cow’s milk but able to tolerate goat’s milk. I know that my body handles goat and sheep’s cheeses much better than cow cheeses. That’s why I’m so obsessed with using goat cheese and sheep cheese in my recipes! More on the different types of milk here.
Please note that eggs are not considered dairy products. My recipes that are in the Dairy-Free category should not contain any milk products from any animals (although they may have the option to add dairy), but they may contain eggs and/or mayonnaise, which is made from eggs and oil. Also, forewarning, I often forget that butter is dairy. It’s a mental block. I just love butter so much that, in my head, I cannot classify it as dairy. I know, I know. It’s dairy. But if I slip up and use butter in a “dairy-free” recipe, please don’t crucify me! Just swap it for oil if possible or gently remind me that my beloved butter does not belong in a dairy free recipe.
Check out my delectable Dairy-Free Delights!